New National Park Quarters Unveiled

U.S. Mint debuts designs for the first five coins in its America the Beautiful Quarters Program, which will honor 56 national parks. The rest will be released through 2021.

America the Beautiful Quarters Program

The U.S. Mint unveiled the designs for the first five coins in its America the Beautiful Quarters Program. The series will feature designs from 56 national parks and other sites in the 50 states, D.C. and U.S. territories.

The coin designs will be presented in the order they were first designated as national landmarks by the federal government. The first quarter in the series, Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas, will be released April 19, followed by four additional coins in 2010.

The other 51 quarters will roll out periodically through 2021, when Alabama’s Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site completes the series.

Hot Springs National Park

U.S. Mint

State: Arkansas
Release date: April 19, 2010

In 1832, President Andrew Jackson named Hot Springs National Park a national reservation. Today it is one of the oldest federally designated sites in America.

Yellowstone National Park

U.S. Mint

State: Wyoming
Release date: June 2010

In 1872, Yellowstone became the first national park. It spans across Wyoming, Montana and Idaho, and includes geothermal structures like the natural geyser Old Faithful.

Yosemite National Park

U.S. Mint

State: California
Release date: July/Aug. 2010

The Yosemite Valley was first placed in federal protection in 1890 under an Army cavalry, but in 1916 it was designated to be a part of the National Park Service.

Grand Canyon National Park

U.S. Mint

State: Arizona
Release date: Sept. 2010

The beauty surrounding the Grand Canyon’s vast rock and mineral layers has been recognized in several ways. The area was first protected in 1893 as part of a forest reserve; it was later made a national monument and was eventually designated a national park in 1919.

Mt. Hood National Forest

U.S. Mint

State: Oregon
Release date: Nov. 2010

This area was first protected as the Cascade Range Forest Preserve in 1893. Mt. Hood took on its current name in 1924, and it sprawls across more than one million acres, including its namesake volcanic mountain.

Posted in Finance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Human Verification: In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.