Now the longest-running comedy in television history, THE SIMPSONS immediately struck a chord with viewers across the country as it poked fun of itself and everything in its wake. With its subversive humor and delightful wit, the series has made an indelible imprint on American pop culture, and the family members have become television icons.

January 14, 2009 kicked off “Best. 20 Years. Ever.,” a year-long global 20th anniversary celebration of all things SIMPSONS. The year will conclude on January 14, 2010 and will feature THE SIMPSONS 20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL – IN 3-D! ON ICE!, produced and directed by Academy Award-nominated filmmaker Morgan Spurlock (“Super Size Me,” “30 Days”). In the special, Spurlock will examine the cultural phenomenon of THE SIMPSONS in his distinctive and innovative style.

The critically praised series has been bestowed with numerous honors, including recently receiving five Emmy nominations for the 2008-2009 season. Over the course of their two-decade run, THE SIMPSONS have won 24 Emmy Awards: 12 for Outstanding Voice-Over Performance, 10 for Outstanding Animated Program and two for Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music.

THE SIMPSONS is a Gracie Films production in association with 20th Century Fox Television. James L. Brooks, Matt Groening and Al Jean are the executive producers. Film Roman, a Starz Media company, is the animation house. Mike B. Anderson serves as the supervising animation director.

Comments are closed.